God Does As He Pleases

TAM’S TIDBITS

by Tammy Phillips

Our God is in the heavens; he does all that he pleases. Psalm 115:3

Joe, a new acquaintance to me, shared his story. He had spent ten years in prison.  This was miraculous because he had been given six life sentences for contract killings.  Joe wept as he spoke, not fully understanding why God had so favored him.  I did not begrudge him his miracle, but I did wonder, why him?  Many had not killed six people and were serving far more time.

God does as He pleases.

My niece started having life altering seizures when she was five years old.   A friend also had seizures regularly when she was a child.  We buried my niece a month after her tenth birthday.  My friend, now in her late fifties, went on to live a healthy life.  Why did God heal my friend and not my niece?

God does as He pleases

Abram was an old man from a pagan town.  No education, life experience or family ties appear in the Scripture to explain why he was chosen by God to be the “Father of many nations” and not another.

God chooses to bestow the miracles or blessings on one and not another. He can do as He pleases.  If God gives divine healing to one and not another, He is not wrong. If God enters into an unbelievable contract with one and not another, God knows what He is doing.  God’s ways are not like ours.

Many have a deistic mindset: God created the world then left it to manage itself and man’s desperately wickedwomen-1416095_1280 heart is on display daily such that God’s intervention is required. Often He replies differently than expected or not at all. Is He wrong?  God’s sovereignty allows Him to do as He pleases.  It is up to us to accept the movements of a perfect God even when we do not understand.  God knows best.

Prayer:  Dear Father, so much in our world makes no sense to me.  But help me to remember that You are always right, always just, always in control.  I can have confidence in your decisions because Your thoughts are nothing like my thoughts and Your ways are far beyond anything I could imagine.  You said in Isaiah 55:8-9 that just as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are Your ways higher than my ways. This is good news during these bad times.  Amen.    

Leave a comment

Filed under Tammy Phillips

What Do You Think?

