The Anchors That Hold Us

by Heidi Gates

It is often when we have had victory over many storms in our lives, thanks to a faithful God, and we are positioned at the birthing of a new life, that fear will come and attempt to grip us. Fear can paralyze our progress. Just by the sheer love of God, He has made me fearless.  1 John 4:18: “There is no fear in love; but perfect love casts out fear, because fear has torment. He who fears is not made perfect in love.”

When fear begins to enter into a situation, I begin to question myself on what area of my life am I disobedient.anchor-284440_1280 Disobedience to God is sin and that sin brings guilt. It is the guilt that then opens the door to fear. I will fear what is to come when I have guilt in my heart. So often it is simply disobeying what God is asking us to do for our own good and spiritual growth. That fear, that we now have inadvertently allowed to anchor us, can begin to chip away at our Godly Confidence. The torment can be found in what now begins to be an onslaught of negative thoughts. The destructive thinking is driven by the fear. I must get a hold of God’s Word.  2 Timothy 1:7: “For God has not given us the spirit of fear; but of power and of love and of a sound mind.”

If I do not get a hold of what God’s Word is really saying, then rather than submitting to Him and doing the very thing that He was stretching me to do, I may not go where God was instructing me to go. Anchored by the guilt of my sin of disobedience, I may begin to hide and just like Jonah, as a result go away from the very place that God had directed me to go.

God had begun to show me through the story of Jonah, about my own fear and my attempt to hide. I was beginning to get the message but it was further confirmed when a guest speaker came to our church and preached the very message from Jonah 1:1-2: “Now the Word of the Lord came unto Jonah the son of Amittai, saying Arise, go to Nineveh, that great city, and cry against it; for their wickedness is come up before Me. But Jonah rose up to flee unto Tarshish from the Presence of the Lord, and went down to Joppa; and he found a ship going to Tarshsh: so he paid the fare thereof, and went down into it, to go with them unto Tarshish from the presence of the Lord.”  The guest Evangelist spoke of missed opportunities and even the possibility of a missed calling and God’s very purpose for our lives as a result of being gripped with worry and fear.

God’s Word indeed pierced my soul and spirit. Hebrews 4:12: “For the Word of God is quick, and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart”.

I knew that I must go where God is telling me to go. I must in the wake of self-created fear, trust God and push down “feelings” to stand on the Word of God and continue to walk in faith believing that He has equipped me. I choose to repent for disobedience, stop ignoring God, and once again obey His instructions as he directs my path. Proverbs 3:6: “In all your ways acknowledge Him and He shall direct your paths”.

There can be remaining chains to our past that creep up and try to bind us. Those chains can be people and memories that attempt to hinder our progress. We must allow God’s Word to cut those anchors and not look back as we move forward in the newness that God has spoken over our lives and believe when God says, “Go now”.

I do not desire to cause delays in my victory walk in Christ through the wilderness, because I spent unnecessary time in the belly of a fish. Father God, it is my prayer that I would clearly hear your small, still voice directing me in the way that I should go. Lord, give me the wisdom to know that you are always with me so that I may have Godly confidence to achieve and fulfill your mighty purpose in my life. To God be the Glory. In Jesus Christ Holy Name, Amen.

_______________________________________________

0029 Heidi Gates is an inspirational speaker and author of a non-fiction trilogy called, God Is No Joke. She has recently published the first book of the trilogy titled, PRAISE . Her books are available at www.ledbythelamb.com. Heidi has a unique calling from God to reach the unreachable and she is committed to living a spirit-led life in hopes of fulfilling her part of God’s purpose.

Leave a comment

Filed under Heidi Gates

What Do You Think?

