Tam’s Tidbits

Just Ask

Tammy A. Phillips

I will lift up my eyes to the hills, From whence comes my help?  My help comes from the Lord Who made heaven and earth.  Psalm 121:1-2

For a minute a hundred years ago, I worked at daycare.  One day, two toddlers were sitting underneath the table in the small cafeteria.  Several times they went from looking at the floor to seriously jabbering at each other.   The scene amused me: I went to investigate.

On the floor was a puddle of milk and in one child’s hand was a torn piece of paper towel.  It became apparent that they had been discussing how to clean up the milk.  Finally, the enterprising toddler tried to clean up the liquid with the tiny piece of paper towel.  It was completely absorbed and much of the puddle still remained on the floor.  I got a large piece of paper towel, cleaned up the mess and returned the two to their seats.

This scene reminded me of when we “make a mess”.  Often we are not equipped to fix the situation; sometime we make it worse.  But we do not have to just sit in our self-made mess.   The scriptures are filled with requests for the Lord’s help (Psalm 91:15, Isaiah 65:24, Psalm 46:1-2).  When we fall into sin and are faced with the consequences, we can go quickly to our Father for help.  God is able to take a large piece of paper towel, clean up our mess and return us to our rightful fellowship with Him.   For His help, all we have to do is “Just Ask”.

Dear Lord:  Thank you for Your word that says you will answer when I call; You are with me when I am in trouble.

Leave a comment

Filed under Tam's Tidbits, Tammy Phillips

What Do You Think?

