Tam’s Tidbits

Stop Complaining

 Tammy A. Phillips

My early days as a full-time missionary did not fill me with joy.  Mosquitoes had left bruises, bumps, scars and the remnants of all three on my limbs, feet, neck and face.  The Internet was as reliable as a Jamaican snowman.   Transportation, food and electricity were shamefully expensive.  Most people operated on the “I’ll see you whenever I get there” schedule and I had not had a cup of decaf in weeks.    While I was adjusting to my new life as a missionary, God had to remind me more than once of His word:  “Do all without murmuring and complaining” and “pray without ceasing.”

I was reminded of those around the world who are covered with sores that will never heal.   I remembered those whose lives are so full of pain, suffering and fear that they could care less which gadget was not working.   I thought of places where food and water are like precious stones: scarce and available only to the privileged.

So, when I wanted to complain about the flying pest, I put my life in perspective and prayed. When the internet took another long break or when I saw the high prices of most of the items in the under stocked stores, I remembered to pray. When people took too long to show up, I remembered to pray.

I am supremely blessed to be able to serve the Lord full-time.  When I keep my purpose and call in the forefront, then life’s annoyances fall into perspective and instead of complaining, I pray.

Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. I Thessalonians 5:16-18 (NKJV)

 

2 Comments

Filed under Tam's Tidbits, Tammy Phillips

2 responses to “Tam’s Tidbits

  1. Amen!! I might need to read this one twice a day. =D

What Do You Think?

