Heart God

by Sharman J. Monroe

As I used my new MacBook Pro this morning, I thanked God again for providing it to me. I had prayed for one since January when I started my radio/podcast show so I could edit my podcasts at home and not have to wait to use the station’s IMac during available time slots here and there. A new MacBook Pro was also on my 2014 goals lists that are taped throughout my house (the story behind this action is another blog post!). Anyway, a couple of weeks ago, a series of circumstances arose that allowed me to get a new one within my budget! Jehovah-Jireh in action! I thanked God!

When the Mac came in the mail, I lifted my eyes and thanked God. I thanked God as I rubbed my hand across the Apple logo on the top. I thanked God as I looked at all the accessories that came with the Mac. I thanked God when I used the 24/7 tech support (4 year plan) that came with the Mac to install software. I thank God every time I learn something new my MacBook Pro can do that my PC couldn’t do (I was a PC person).

But this morning, I heard, “Does God know you really appreciate getting the MacBook? After all you haven’t fallen down to your knees or done any shouting? In fact, you’ve never fallen to your knees or ran around shouting and crying when God does things for you.” Hmmmmmm….. You see, huge displays of emotion like that make me uncomfortable. Maybe it’s because I was raised Catholic; I don’t know. Anyway, I started to feel condemned. Then I remembered the Word.

Put-Some-Heart-Into-Your-Gift-Giving--560x296God looks at our heart (Psalm 44:22). He knows what drives us to do what we do. He prefers our love and desire to please Him rather than superficial sacrifices (Proverbs 21:3). That’s why although David was an adulterer and a murderer (2 Samuel 11:2-17), God said David was a man after His own heart (Acts 13:22).

 

I remembered the Word. Satan asked the same kind of question to Eve in the Garden – “Has God indeed said, ‘You shall not eat of every tree of the garden?’” (Genesis 3:1). His standard attack is to cause us to doubt God. When we do, our faith weakens, we don’t act and we lose our testimony of God’s greatness, all of which is Satan’s endgame. After all, Satan’s job description is to steal, kill and destroy our faith and our testimony (John 10:10). Oh and he delights in pointing his finger and accusing us of things (Revelation 12:10).

Then I remembered me. I remembered that God knows my heart, knows all my needs and is my source for everything (Psalm 37:4; Matthew 6:25-34). I remembered that God orchestrated the circumstances so I could get this MacBook. I remembered that I am truly grateful for this MacBook because now I can create, without any limitations, all kinds of media (videos, movies, blog posts, podcasts, etc.) to show people around the world how to live the Word of God! And I said, “Thank you, God.”

Don’t get me wrong. It’s okay to jump, shout, twirl around, cry and beat 50 tambourines for the Lord as long as you are doing it to genuinely worship God and not to put on a show for man (Proverbs 29:25). It’s also okay to worship Him in a quieter way. The important thing is to worship. I’m so glad our God is a Heart God!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Encouragement, Sharman J. Monroe

What Do You Think?

