How AWESOME is our God!

by Sharman J. Monroe

For the past couple of weeks, I’ve heard gospels songs playing in my head during the night and before I wake in the morning. To backtrack a bit, when I open my eyes in the morning, I usually have thoughts about what I didn’t do or finish or all the mistakes I made the day before.  But lately, I’ve heard gospel songs before I open my eyes.  This morning it was “Break Every Chain”.  I stopped and thought, “How AWESOME is our God! He took His time to jump in front of Satan and do a pre-emptive strike for me against Satan’s attempt to garbage in my head when I woke up!”

 Paul clued us in on God taking pre-emptive actions on our behalf.  He said:

Likewise the Spirit also helps in our weaknesses. For we do not know what we should pray for as we ought, but the Spirit Himself makes intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered.  Now He who searches the hearts knows what the mind of the Spirit is, because He makes intercession for the saints according to the will of God.  

Romans 8:26-27 (NJKV)

The Creator and Originator of everything desires so much to have a relationship with you! The Almighty God cheers for you and pushes you to succeed in your Christian walk every minute of every day!  He’s like the teacher who gives you the answer sheet for the test before giving you the test.  You don’t have to cram to pass; you just have to show up.  When you accept Christ as your Savior, you don’t have to cram to “get it right”.  You just have to show up with a heart for God.  God will, in the person of the Holy Spirit, come to live in you and will go to work on your behalf every minute of every day (1 Corinthians 6:16; Philippians 2:13).  How AWESOME is our God!

Wow! Talk about love. God’s daily actions show how deeply He cares for each and every one of us.  The more I think about God and His love, the more humble I become.  I feel like David when he said:  

What is man that You are mindful of him, And the son of man that You visit him?

Psalm 8:4 (NJKV)

 How AWESOME is our God!

Question for Comment: What pre-emptive strike or other small action has God taken on your behalf?

Leave a comment

Filed under Encouragement, Inspiration, Sharman J. Monroe

What Do You Think?

