Walking on Water

by Sharman J. Monroe

You may not know, but in addition to managing this blog, I also write a blog on personal development called My Journey to Me: Personal Development and Re-Invention (www.myjourneytome-discovery.com).  I started the blog with the intention of turning it into a book, but never saw the commonality between the blog posts to do so.  Anyway, about this time last year, I started writing a book on personal development because I am passionate about people living up to their full God-given potential.  My inspirations for writing the book were my friends, Joy Riley (http://getyourjoyinthemorning.blogspot.com) and Angela Solomon (http://www.mlmwives.com) who had just written books and felt I could do it too.  My book started as a book of quotes on personal development. But halfway through, I was drawn to change direction.  I sat down and began outlining a different kind of book.  The outline poured out of me with such ease it was finished in 10 minutes! As I was writing the outline, God revealed the common thread of my blog posts.  God revealed that the lessons I was learning in my post-employee life (read Why A Blog? ) related to personal development from His point of view.

In March, I asked my long-time and best friend, Shirley, to edit the seven chapters I had written so far.  Her review helped me to see I needed to revamp my book so that anyone, even someone not familiar with the Bible, could understand and benefit from it.  Throughout the summer, I wrote on and off, revising chapters.

Last month, unbeknownst to me, Joy recommended me to the acquisitions editor at her publisher, Tate Publishing (http://www.tatepublishing.com). I yelled at Joy because my book was not finished but she said to send the editor an email introducing myself anyway.  I did and sent a copy of the Table of Contents and Introduction.   The editor responded with a thank you email and I thought no more about it.  Then suddenly last Thursday the editor left a voice message saying she was impressed with what I had written and offered me a publishing contract! My mouth fell open. I was afraid to move.  Can you say shocked and overwhelmed? (yes, I still have the message!)  Before I could talk myself out of it, I signed the contract. Egad, what have I done??!

So………. I now have a publisher for my yet untitled and unfinished book!  I guess I have to finish it now!  So again, I am walking on water and trusting God to give me His words to pass on to others.  I am so excited about what He wants He wants me to say to you about reaching your God-given potential.  It must be important and needed because God gave me a gift of a publisher and I wasn’t looking for one.  Look for my book in 2013!!!!!  To get updates on my book, subscribe to my blog. (www.myjourneytome-discovery.com)

5 Comments

Filed under Inspiration, Sharman J. Monroe

5 responses to “Walking on Water

  1. PASTOR DAVIS/MASTER TEACHER

    May you be blessed with peace, love, joy and the abundances of the Lord’s fruits of prosperity this Christmas Season. We love you and appreciate you for all that you do in helping to build and promote the Kingdom of God here on this earth.

  2. Pingback: My Payment for these Posts | Wayfarer

  3. Congrats on your book getting published!! How exciting!!

What Do You Think?

