True Beauty

by Sharman J. Monroe

Ladies, how many times have you done this – looked in the mirror and said something like, “I don’t like my _____” or “I wish my _____ were _____” or “Why can’t be like ______” or “I wish I had ___ like ____”. Sometimes we have looked at our mates and said, “I wish my ____ had a body like _____.”  Be honest with yourself; no one will hear.  We all have.  I know I have.

 It can be hard not to these days.  We are constantly bombarded with images of flawless, poreless skin, perfect white teeth, every-hair-in-place-dos, unspoiled rounded breasts, and size 2 bodies in body-hugging clothes (how do women breathe in those clothes??)   Sometimes we forget the images are “photo-shopped” and the bodies shown are the result of extreme cosmetic surgeries and unhealthy dieting.  These photos are not “real pictures” of a woman.  They are designed to not only make us lose focus on what’s important in life, but also make us feel discontented, inferior and crave something else.   It’s the same old “lust of the eyes” (focusing on the body) and “lust of the flesh” (focusing on feelings and desire) trick Satan used on Eve in the garden to get her focus off of God.  (Genesis 3:4-6; 1 John 2:15-16).

 The “real picture” of a woman is on the inside.  The other day I heard I song that put things in perspective for me and I wanted to share it.  It’s called True Beauty written by Mandisa (www.mandisaofficial.com and @mandisaofficial). Mandisa is a two-time GRAMMY ® nominated Christian singer whose recent hit “Good Morning” is regularly played on ABC’s “Good Morning America”.  Here are the lyrics.  Take a moment and chew on them.  Then enjoy Mandisa’s beautiful voice on the video.

 True Beauty (from CD entitled True Beauty)

Do you think that a California girl is supposed to have curls and wear a jean size 3?

All the curves in all the right places, spray tanned faces like on TV?
And we read in the gospel of Vogue that we’re all supposed to dress and move and be
Visions of perfection
Such a misconception
‘Cause the real connection is deeper than the eye can see

Chorus:
What’s inside of you
What’s inside of me
The hands that made the moon and the stars
The mountains and the seas
Made you wonderful, beautiful, marvelously
Let the whole world see your
True beauty

Don’t know much about Dolce and Gabbana
Seems like a lot of drama to me
And you can keep all your red high heels
And open-toed shoes – I’m good in my bare feet
Lets get down to the nitty gritty
Enough sex and the city
What about purity?
Skin is just the surface
The passion and the purpose that’s burning down inside us
Is really what we need to see

Chorus

Doesn’t come in a bottle, doesn’t come in a box
You can’t spray it on, you can’t wash it off
You can’t nip and tuck, you can’t sew it up
So don’t waste your time
It’s the love in your heart, the peace in your soul
The hope in your smile lets the whole world know
This little light – you gotta let it shine

7 Comments

Filed under Encouragement, Inspiration, Sharman J. Monroe

7 responses to “True Beauty

  1. Loved in Minnesota

    I am benefitting from your blog as I heal from a recent elbow injury. More time to read while I wait to heal enough to drive the minivan again! I need the encouragement as I am seeking to be the best influence possible for my 14-year-old daughter and her friends.

    • Thank you so much for reading our blog! So glad our posts are helping you….that is why we write. Your message encourages us as we encourage you. Isn’t that how God wants us to live?! Feel free to share this blog with your daughter. God bless you!

  2. coni

    Love this! I have struggled with low self esteem my whole life,,,,,,as a christian I now know that my true self and my true “beauty” are on the inside, where God sees!

    • Living in today’s society I think all women, from time to time, judge their beauty from the world’s perspective. It is at those times that we must make a conscious effort to stop…..and see our true beauty as God does. Mandisa’s song helps to keep my thoughts on my beauty right.

  3. Thank you so much for offering fresh truth. You’re right. We’ve been exposed to over 250,000 ads before the age of seventeen. Most of the ads shout, “Beauty is everything,” But scripture says, “Man looks at outward appearance, but God looks at the heart.” (I Samuel 16:7). We have a much higher calling than asking, “Do these jeans make my tooshie look fat?” We were created with stories, passions, and gifts to use to point people to the cross. We were created for so much more than obsessing! Stop by my blog if you get a chance. Tooshie: Defeating the Body Image Bandit at http://www.tooshieblog.com.

What Do You Think?

