What Do You See?

by Chris Allen

John 19:26-27:  When Jesus then saw His mother and the disciple whom He loved standing nearby, He said to His mother “Women behold your son,” Then He said to the disciple, “behold your mother!” From that hour the disciple took her to his home.

When I studied this scripture, along with other scriptures found in Luke chapter 1, where the angel Gabriel announces the birth of Jesus to Mary and her response to what He had spoken, both used the same word “behold” as Jesus did, which means to look; to see; to perceive; to remember; to understand; and to consider.

I thought there must be something there that they all saw. I wanted to use my sanctified imagination and become a roving reporter.  Well, what do reporters do you ask?  They ask questions.

I wanted to ask Jesus the question “What Do You See?”

So let’s consider what may have actually happened at the cross from Jesus’ point of view.

An Interview with Jesus

Chris – Jesus, here in the 21st century our viewers want to know what did you see from the cross?

Jesus – Well let me think about that Daughter because you do know that I am all seeing and all knowing, so I will have to narrow down my view.

I will share with you three things that I saw from the cross:

  1. A backward look
  2. A downward look
  3. And a present look

I first took a look backward and I saw man’s need for a savior.

I saw the law they couldn’t keep.

I saw the sacrifices that couldn’t satisfy their sin debt.

(As Jesus spoke I could see the look of Love in His eyes)

He continued.

Jesus – So, I called a meeting with My Trinitarian Counsel, God the Father and God the Holy Spirit.

What are we going to do about man’s dilemma?

The Father responded “I’ve looked for a man who could stand in the gap, but there was no one.”

I spoke up quickly and said, “Father, prepare me a body and send Me.”

Then I saw Mary and found favor in her.

I spoke into her life.

Although, Mary didn’t fully understand, she pondered these things in her heart and obeyed. Mary replied, “I am the Lord’s servant ready to serve, let it be with me just as You have said.

(Jesus paused and His expression begins to change)

Chris – What else do You see Jesus?

(He looks at me with compassion in His eyes. He resumes)

Jesus – As I was taking a backward look, I began to hear a familiar voice and my view changed from a backward look to a downward look.

I see Mary at the foot of the cross.

I see the pain in her eyes.  Her eyes speak to Me, saying, “How can this be, Lord?  I saw the angel and believed.  Now I see my son battered and disfigured hanging from the cross.  The one I carried for nine months.  The one I raised.  My first born, the son of promise.  I remember what the angel spoke to me.

But Mary was forgetting that “God declares the end from the beginning” and she was smack dab in the middle.

I’m moved to do something, so I put death on pause and call out to her, but I dare not call her mother.  See that would have further added to her pain.

I called out to her “Woman behold Your Son,” I look toward John.  See, I needed her to change her view, to no longer see me as son, but as Savior. For her to remember when she rejoiced saying “My soul does magnify the Lord and my spirit rejoices in My God, My Savior!

And John standing near her.

I hear his thoughts, the anguish in his mind.

I hear him thinking, “This is the one I followed for three years hanging from the cross.  Everything that He told me, that I thought would happened is now doomed.  But, yet I’m still standing here with some hope.  What am I going to do?

(Then Jesus sees me and He speaks to me, He speaks “Behold your mother” He speaks purpose into me and I move to obedience.  He changed my view to see past my pain and fear, and take my focus off of myself to meet the needs of someone else)

(Jesus stops for a moment and turns to me)

Jesus – I’ve shared with you a backward look, how I saw man’s dilemma, and a downward look, when I put death on pause, even in the midst of severe suffering to meet the needs of Mary and John.

But I still see man struggling with his view of Me and that brings me to a present look.

Do you mind if I ask you and your viewers a question?

Chris – of course not Jesus, have Your way

Jesus – I want to ask, “What do you see?”

Chris – what do you mean Jesus, “what do you see?”

(Jesus looks directly into the camera)

Jesus – Are you looking past your own needs, your own suffering to meet the needs of others or are you still only seeing yourselves as problems and conditions? Has God told you to do something and yet, you refused because you can’t see past your own inabilities? You use the same old excuses “I don’t know how to do that,” or “I have kids,” I’m not good enough.” Don’t you know that I knew you before the foundation of the world, before you were formed in your mother’s womb? I know the thoughts and plans I have for you, to prosper you and never to harm you. I know exactly who you are and I still call you by name.

When are you going to change your view? When are you going to see Me, and all that I did for you at the cross? Stop looking at you and behold Me. Stop looking at circumstances and your problems and behold Me.  Don’t you know that I have overcome the world and its power to harm you?  You are right –  in you, you can do nothing.  But in Me you can do all things because I will strengthen you.  When I died on the cross and you believed; you now have a new identity in Me.

See what I see in you:

You are a child of God.

You are fearfully and wonderfully made.

You are the head and not the tail.

Above and not beneath.

You are more than a conqueror.

You are valuable and significant.

Change your view!

Behold Me! Not the problem.

Not your husband or your wife.

Behold Me!  Not your circumstances.

Not your job, Not your children.

Behold Me! Stop looking at what you don’t have.

Behold Me! Stop looking at what you can’t do.

Behold Me!

What Do You See?

Question for Comment: Do you have trouble seeing Jesus, especially in times of need? Do have any suggestions to help others see Him when they have a need?

Chris Allen is the founder of AWIC and will be one of the speakers at “The Experience”.  She worships at Sharon Bible Fellowship Church in Lanham, Maryland.

2 Comments

Filed under Chris Allen, Encouragement, The Experience

2 responses to “What Do You See?

  1. Shemeka Villlalta

    That was very nice. Praise God for the willing vessel! ~ willing to allow Christ to pour into you so that you can in turn pour into others…God is awesome!

    Sis. Shemeka

What Do You Think?

