Are You Resource-full?

by Sharman J. Monroe

    Pastor Terrell is teaching a series on Godly stewardship right now. As part of his teaching, he talked about resources and our need to exercise stewardship over our resources. So he asked the question…..what are your resources? He told us to write down our resources. I wrote communication skills, computer skills, patience, and administrative skills. As we wrote, he pointed out that money is not our only resource, but that a resource is anything “what you bring to the table”. Pastor then referred to Joseph of the Old Testament, the one sold into slavery by his brothers who later became second in command over all of Egypt. (Gen 37:1-50:22). He said Joseph’s resources were favor, faith and forgiveness. He then stated so many people struggle and fail in life because they are not aware of their resources and charged us to think, during the week, about what our resources were.
Well, after I left church, thinking about my resources was the last thing on my mind. But during my devotional time that week, as I was reading 1 John 2:24-3:3, I came to this verse:

              But the anointing which you have received from Him abides in you… 1 John 2:27 (NJKV)

    Hmmm. I stopped. I highlighted. I started meditating over this scripture and thinking about resources. Is the anointing one of my resources? I wondered how other translations stated this verse and went to http://www.biblegateway.com and did some research. The New Living Translation says the verse this way:

              But you have received the Holy Spirit, and he lives within you…

    Ooo! The anointing referenced in the scripture was the Holy Spirit! It abides in me as a source of Truth. A resource! I got very excited! I started thinking “What resources do I ‘bring to the table’ as a member of the body of Christ, as a child of God?” I started writing:

1) Holy Spirit (John 14:16-17)
2) Favor (Psalm 5:2, Proverbs 12:2, Proverbs 14:9)
3) Grace (Ephesians 2:8)
4) God is fighting my battles, going before me to make crooked ways straight (2 Chronicles 20:15, Isaiah 42:16, Luke 3:4-6)
5) Confidence (Philippians 1:6)
6) No condemnation (Romans 8:1)
7) God’s good plan for my life (Jeremiah 29:11, Ephesians 2:10)
8 ) Power over the enemy (Luke 10:19)
9) Forgiveness of sin (Isaiah 43:25, Psalm 103:12)
10) Prayer (Philippians 4:6-7, 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18)

    There are so many! I could write for days! It really hit me…..the Bible tells me exactly what my resources are and all these resources originate from God.
I thought. If I had a million dollars in the bank and my car broke down and I needed it fixed because I needed to get to work, wouldn’t I go to the bank and get some money out so I can get the car fixed? Or would I just stand around looking lost and being pitiful? I’d run to the bank, get the money I needed and get the car fixed!
I wondered, “As I’m going through my daily life, am I using my God-given resources to help me? Or am I just standing around looking lost and being pitiful?” Proverbs 29:18 (AMP) says, “Where there is no vision [no redemptive revelation of God], the people perish.” I like the way the Message Bible puts it:

              If people can’t see what God is doing, they stumble all over themselves;
              But when they attend to what he reveals, they are most blessed.

    Stumble all over themselves! Visualize this: You are walking from Corner A to the Corner B in the same block, but you are stumbling all over yourself as you go. How long would it take you to get to Corner B? And in what condition would you be in when you finally (if ever) got there?
Well, I don’t want to stumble all over myself anymore; I have too many bruises already! So starting today, I resolve to be more confident in following the prompting of the Holy Spirit (you know… that inkling inside of you which Pastor taught me was the Holy Spirit and to say so!) when He tells me to go left and it doesn’t make any kind of sense at all. I will go left because I can rely on my resource of God’s good plan for my life and my resource of favor. I will not be distracted or frighten by problems that come my way because I can rely on my resource of God fighting my battles for me and my resource of power over the enemy. And when, in my humanness, I doubt and want to go back to the right, when I sin, I can rely on my resources of no condemnation and my resource of forgiveness. And in relying on my resources, I know I will tap into the resource of peace that surpasses all understanding. (Philippians 4:7).
If you didn’t know you had a million dollars in the bank to get your car fixed, would you go to the bank? No. No one can use a resource she doesn’t know she has. God gives you powerful resources. As you go through your daily life, are you using the resources God gives you? If not, is it because you don’t know what they are? Take 10 minutes right now and start a list of your resources with the scripture reference. Add to it as you think of or learn about other resources. Read your list everyday. Take it one step further – put the list in your wallet or purse and refer to it throughout the day.
I challenge you to stop stumbling over yourself. Know what resources you have. Be greedy about your God-given resources. Use all your God-given resources daily, no… hourly. You can’t use them up. They never run out. Be powerful! Be AWE-some! Be most blessed as you live the abundant life Jesus died for you to have!

I came that they may have and enjoy life, and have it in abundance (to the full, till it overflows). John 10:10 (AMP)

Question for Comment: Are you resource-full? Do you use your resources everyday? Which resource do you like best and how does it help you?

 Sharman worships at Shechem Covenant Outreach Ministries under the leadership of Pastor Tommy Terrell, III.  Shechem currently meets at Samuel P. Massie Elementary School in Forestville, Maryland.

2 Comments

Filed under Inspiration, Sharman J. Monroe

2 responses to “Are You Resource-full?

  1. What a wonderful message!! Well said my sister!! Yes, so many of us are unaware of the resources and tools the Lord has placed within us. We sometimes look for them externally when they’ve been inside of us all along. Just as the song, “Encourage Yourself” states, sometimes you have to speak a word over yourself. Speak victory over yourself. For God has given us all a tongue and with it lies the power of life and death. When God created the world, he spoke it into existence. We have God-given authority and tools. And you’re so right, people limit resources to money and other material things. Not everyone can fix a bike, write with encouragement, teach, etc. Let’s go to work!!

What Do You Think?

